Posted by: John Edwards | June 25, 2008

I Played God

Word of Faith people are taught that they can be the God of their own lives. I taught this heresy for eight years. I used to believe that I could have anything I wanted if I would say it with my mouth and believe it in my heart. Sounds like voodoo huh? It is!
Kenneth Hagin claims that Jesus appeared to him in a vision and gave him personal instructions on “How to write your own ticket with God”. Jesus said to “Say it, believe it, receive it and do it”. Word of Faith people believe that everything you experience in life, good or bad, is a result of the words that you have been speaking. They believe that they can create and change situations with the spoken word. They believe thier words are creative forces.
This message is the combination of New Age metaphysics and a gross misinterpretation of a Jewish hyperbole that Jesus used in Mark 11:23.
The dangerous thing about this message is that it puts you in the driver’s seat of your life because you begin to think that you can plan your future and change your world by speaking the right words. It also creates a tremendous amount of fear. Fear of saying the wrong thing. Word of Faith people believe that you can bring sickness and tragedy into your life by saying the wrong things. They believe a lot of crazy things! I know because I taught the Word of Faith for eight years. I have seen people’s faith ruined over it many, many times.
There is a tremendous amount of doctrinal error in the Word of Faith. It is Satan’s way of having man become god. It is New Age. Man is not the creator, God is.
My wife Coni will be sharing some insights on this teaching and how people have died from it in the near future. Stay tuned!


Responses

  1. you are so brave!
    God BLESS you as you lead your people into the freedom you’ve found!

  2. Caron thanks for the comment. Its a long story but you can email me at exwof@aol.com John

  3. Wow, I would love to know how the Lord led you out of the WoF movement. Can you explain more about the hyperbole in Mark?

    You would love this friend of mine. his name is Justin Peters and he holds seminars exposing the WoF movement, leaders, founders and metaphysical roots.
    His site is http://www.justinpeters.org and if you check it out go to “demo.”

    He also comes highly recommended by my pastor, Dr. John MacArthur…


Categories