Posted by: John Edwards | April 29, 2008

A “Class” System

Have you ever seen people from India that have colored dots on their foreheads? Those dots indicate the social class that they were born into. They tell the world if they are poor or rich and they are treated according to their status. I have noticed the same system in the church world today. In the organization that I was affiliated with for 14 years, there is a class system. The “Haves” and the “Have Nots” of ministry and church. I’m not good at posting and pasting or I would write it out for you, but please read James 2:1-10 and see how God feels about it. God is no respecter of persons and He doesn’t want his kids to be either. I have encountered many situations where I was treated like dirt because I had a small church. I’d like to share a couple of them with you.
When I was going to school in Oklahoma, I worked security for a world famous televangelist and his family. They were church royalty and treated as such by all those around them. One night I was guarding their mansion from a small guard shack outside. My job was to work the security gate and to walk the grounds. On one particular night the tornado sirens went off. It was raining and hailing with tremendous wind and lightning. I was holed up in my shack praying the 91st Psalm! A few minutes later, as the storm got closer, the celebrity preacher and his family pulled up to the gate to be let out. They were on their way to a special underground bunker for safety. They were in a hurry! I let them out and they sped off without so much as a wave. I guess it was OK for them to seek refuge, but I sure felt under appreciated as a lowly security guard! It left an impression on me.
I have had the opportunity to work behind the scenes many times for many famous men of God. I was told not to speak to them, and of course they never gave me the chance! I was told that if I asked questions that I would be fired. It was always very frustrating to be next to these superstar preachers and not be able to ask them questions about God. They wouldn’t give me the time of day. I have witnessed much rudeness from some of these stars of Jesus. I have seen special treatment for the people that gave big money to their ministries while the nobodies were cast aside. VIP seating. That’s for the money. I have seen presidents of bible schools totally ignore their students and alumni at dinners and such.
It is my gaol as a pastor to treat all people with dignity and respect. I want to be just as loving and friendly to the poor and downcast as I would be to a big time tither. God is no respecter of persons and we should be just like Him. Jesus hung around with the average Joe’s and with the rich. He chatted with the prostitutes. He touched the beggar. He stayed amongst the poor. He rebuked the disciples for shunning people away. He preached from a boat. He sought no fanfare and even hid himself at times to avoid the limelight. He would raise someone from the dead and tell the parents not to tell anyone! We should all strive to act like Jesus, to treat all people with love. God loves all people, the rich and the poor. He is no respecter of persons so why should we be?


Responses

  1. I am so glad that you are preaching on this. A long time ago my dad used to tell me:” We are all the same, no matter what color or religion. Remember God created all. Be kind to everyone and lift them up.” It is a wonderful feeling when you can place a smile on someones face by simply saying hello.


Categories